Search
Close this search box.

Home Forums Six-Pack of Peaks Challenger’s Forum Solo Hiking the Six

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    k k
    Participant

Any advice for a female hiker planning on hiking the six on her own? I’m new to the SoCal area, so I’m hiking solo more out of a lack of hiking buddies than desire. Obviously I want to be as safe and smart as I can about this. I’m definitely concerned about the chance of an encounter with a four-legged or two-legged predator, but I don’t want that to keep me from doing something I love.

Are the trails generally safe? Am I better off trying to set up group hikes with other people?

Jennifer G
    Participant

Hi. I found a group that does the six peaks together that I’ve joined. It’s led by an experienced hiker. Look it up on Facebook. Mel’s Hiking Group

Philip Y
    Participant

Hi Micaela,

I generally hike solo myself; however, I do on occasion hike with the Menifee Fit Club (they are doing the Six Pack as a group). Depending on your location, they might be an option for you. They just did Mt Wilson last week and are climbing Mt Baldy on April 3rd as a part of the Climb For Heroes fundraiser. Menifee Fit Club is on Facebook as well.

Roxane B
    Participant

I just hiked Mt. Wilson yesterday solo. I picked the weekend over weekdays so at least I knew there were other people on the trail. It was long but great. Nice people on the trail. I have a SPOT GPS tracker with me all the time just incase I need to signal for help. Of all six peaks the only two I would make sure I was with a group on are San Jacinto and Gorgonio but that is just my own comfort level. 🙂 Good luck!

Sarah T
    Participant

HI ladies,