Search
Close this search box.

Home Forums Ask a Question First time backpacking

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    andrew F
    Participant

Hello, my name is Andrew, and I am new to backpacking. I have hiked a little bit though, and I am in good shape. My question is, what is a good challenge for my first backpacking trip, one that will be an epic adventure worth of the walking and it will be a nice place to camp. 1 night 2 days. So as epic as can be. Solo. This will help prepare me for future longer backpacks when I have more time.

I am going on Monday, Tuesday.

I have been to Mount Timber. Mount Wilson. I keep in good shape, so fitness wise, pretty much anything should be fine…so what do you think? I would like solitude I think.

Never been camping before, but think I will love it. I got all my gear setup.

Thoughts? Thanks so much!

Jeff Hester
    Keymaster

I’m pretty fond of San Jacinto for first time backpacking. I’ve taken a number of people there on their first backpacking trip. Lots of options.

One of our readers recently did an overnight backpack up the Deer Springs Trail to Mt San Jacinto. Check out their trip report.

andrew F
    Participant

Thanks for the response Jeff! This does seem like a good first trip. However I want to develop my fire building skills, and I see I can’t make a camp fire up there. Any other ideas?

andrew F
    Participant

was thinking about doing this hike http://www.modernhiker.com/2015/10/07/hike-mt-baden-powell-via-islip-saddle/

Islip Saddle to Mount Baden, I like the idea of seeing multiple peaks. I would camp at little Jimmy’s which looks like a cool campground. I just don’t like the idea of only doing 2 miles and setting up camp, then doing 6 the next day, would rather do most of the hiking in day one, but I guess getting acclimated to camping this might allow me sometime to setup and enjoy it.

Are there places to camp on the way to San Jacinto?

David R
    Participant