Search
Close this search box.

Home Forums Trails Trans-Catalina Trail First time Backpacker – TCT a good choice?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Becky L
    Participant

Hello,

I really enjoy hiking and camping but have never been backpacking! I recently purchased my first backpack and camping stove and am eager to plan my first adventure. I have never been to Catalina and couldn’t imagine a better way to explore it. I was wondering if you think the TCT is a good choice for my first trip? I plan to go with a friend (who has never done it either). I am comfortable ‘roughing it’ and walking long distances, but I’m not experienced with: what to bring, how to prepare/pack, and how to gain fresh water (although reading your post it appears there is water at each campsite – so would I need to bring a water filtration system?). I’m not afraid of a challenge but want to make sure I set myself up for success!

I enjoyed reading your post about the trail, it really made me want to hike this trail!

Thanks,

Becky

Jeff Hester
    Keymaster

Hi Becky and welcome to SoCalHiker!

The Trans-Catalina Trail is beautiful, and feels like a world away from the rest of SoCal. It was my girlfriend’s first backpacking trip when we were training for the JMT. In some ways it’s a great first trip.

Note that the route has changed and our guide has not yet been updated to reflect the change. The changes make it easier, and reduce the total mileage hiked. Previously the trail “ended” at Starlight Beach — a full 9 miles from Two Harbors — and that “extra” milage back to town wasn’t considered part of the trail. Now it actually ends back at Two Harbors, so the mileage for the TCT is an accurate reflection of the miles you’ll hike.